Sunday, October 17, 2021


Alan Sharps


Alan Sharps recently retired after forty years of teaching band, twenty-three of which were in NEISD.  The culmination of his career has been the past thirteen years at Claudia Taylor Johnson High School. While at Johnson, he co-conducted the Wind Ensemble and Symphony Bands and instructed the school’s Jazz Ensembles and Jazz Combo. In addition to his woodwind instruction duties with the marching band, he oversaw all of the technical and electronics aspects of the band program. 


Perhaps his most famous student is artist-producer Pharrell Williams. Pharrell was named Music Producer of the Decade 2000-2010 for his work with countless successful artists. In 2013, Williams became just the 12th artist to simultaneously hold the top two spots in Billboard’s Hot 100 singles chart.


Mr. Sharps musical experiences include serving as the Graduate Assistant Director of the University of Miami “Band of the Hour,” Assistant Director of the Florida Wave Drum and Bugle Corps, recording engineer, adjudicator, arranger, percussionist, vocalist, and electronic music consultant. He is a member of Phi Beta Mu and Phi Mu Alpha, as well as an honorary member of Tau Beta Sigma and a Lifetime PTA member. 


Mr. Sharps received Bachelors and Masters degrees in Music Education from the University of Miami in Coral Gables, Florida. After teaching at North Miami Beach Senior High School and Western High School in South Florida, he returned home to teach in Virginia Beach, Virginia. Mr. Sharps was the band director at Princess Anne High School between 1986 and 1994. He then began the band program at the new Ocean Lakes High School in 1994. His bands were recognized as a Virginia State Honor Bands five times and received awards for top brass and percussion captions in their Tournament of Bands class.


In 1997, Mr. Sharps moved to San Antonio to take a position as Assistant Director at Winston Churchill High School. During his eleven years at Churchill, the band was a four-time finalist at the Bands of America Grand National Championships in Indianapolis, six-time BOA Regional Champions and placed between third and sixth place six times at the Texas State Marching Band Championships. The band marched in the 116th Tournament of Roses Parade in 2005.


In 2008, Mr. Sharps had the honor to become the first band director at Claudia Taylor Johnson High School. The students, staff, parents and administration at C.T.J. made his job a dream come true. The level of music making and work ethic that his students exhibited daily brought such joy to his time at Johnson.  Mr. Sharps feels grateful to have had the opportunity to both participate in the BOA Grand Nationals and conduct at the Midwest Band and Orchestra Clinic in his final year of teaching.  He wishes to thank all of his mentors, co-workers, students and most importantly his family for giving him the opportunity to teach music at the highest level.  This evening’s celebration illustrates how loving and supportive the Johnson Band community truly is.


Master Of Ceremony

Jarrett Lipman is the Director of Bands of Claudia Taylor "Lady Bird" High School.

Guest Speakers

Ferd Vollmar, Retired North East ISD Director or Fine Arts & Director of Bands at Winston Churchill

Dr Albert Lo, Retired Director of Bands at Winston Churchill HS, Adjudicator for Drum Corps International & Bands of America

Entertainment Line-up

6:30 p.m. Reception – Entertainment by CTJ Jazz Band I

7:15 p.m. Welcome, take seats for dinner – Entertainment by Preston McGurn

7:45 p.m. Entertainment by Alumni Quintet

8:15 p.m. Cake Presentation & Recognition

8:30 p.m. Video Montage

Event concludes


Entertainment Line-up

6:30 – 7:15 p.m. Jazz Band I

7:15 – 7:30 p.m. Preston McGurn on the piano

7:45 – 8:15 p.m. Alumni Quintet

Johnson High School Alma Mater

Near rolling hills where wildflowers grow

In fields of green and bonnets of blue

Stands a city on a hill for which our hearts beat ever true

Oh Johnson High, we sing to thee

We raise our anthem to the sky

We will defend your name with pride

Oh hail to thee our Johnson High


CTJ Jazz Band 1 
Saxophones               Trumpets
Sebastian Becerra       Brandon Barron
A. R. Garnica               Diego Camacho
Matheus Lucian           Kyle Crawford 

Gabe Marquez             Charles Serrano

Maddox Myane            Aiden Souder

Percussion                 Trombones

Joseph Curry              Anna Blevins

Madelyn Mayer           Matthew Blackwell

Preston McGurn          Elijah Cripps

Sara Vilera                  Jason Neuner

Cameron Leal 

Tuba                          Piano Soloist

Kyson Moll                  Preston McGurn

Alumni Quintet

Ethan Gomes

Juan San Miguel              

Evan Jose                   

Jordan Stern

Hondo San Miguel